What you learn here
Proceed with caution: the dangers of deleting
If you no longer need a calendar (or sub-calendar) and its events, you might want to delete the calendar just to get it out of the way. However, because a lot of data can be associated with calendars, it's best to think carefully before you proceed.
When you delete a calendar, you also delete:
- All events on the calendar along with all of the registration data associated with those events.
Tip Events from the deleted calendar that you also showed on other calendars remain on the other calendars but become orphans. You must remove those orphaned events for them to disappear.
I'd like to know more about Also Shows On.
How do I remove events?
- Custom registration questions and forms.
- Event submission forms.
- Images, event templates, and custom fields that may be used by other calendars.
If you decide not to delete a calendar, go on to the next section for alternative suggestions.
What you can do with calendars that you can't or decide not to delete
You can't delete a calendar that another account holder shared with you. And, because of the risks, you may decide not to delete a calendar you created.
However, you aren't just stuck with a calendar in your list that you're never going to use. You can:
- Hide a calendar to get it out of the way.
Hiding a calendar.
- Rename the calendar and use it for other purposes.
As the following matrix shows, whether or not you can hide or rename a calendar depends upon the calendar's status.
If you need help hiding and renaming calendars, see the tips that follow the matrix table.
Hide and rename calendars matrix
|Calendar status||Can hide?||Can rename?
|Shared with you
|Created by you
- Published or mixed in to a published calendar
|Created by you
- Hiding calendars
You can't hide the active calendar. In the calendars list, first select a calendar other than the one you want to hide.
How do I hide a calendar?
Calendars you hide are still available. You can find them on the Manage Your Calendars page, where you can set them to show again at any time.
- Renaming calendars
- To rename a calendar, select it in the editing environment. Click Settings above the calendar. For Calendar name type a new name, and then click OK.
Delete a calendar that you created
You can delete only calendars that you actually created. For example, you can't delete a calendar that another account holder shared with you.
To delete a calendar:
- If you have spud code for the calendar you're deleting embedded anywhere on your website, remove the code now.
Note If you delete a published calendar but forget to remove the spud code from your webpages, site visitors see a message that the calendar doesn't exist.
- If the calendar is published, unpublish it.
How do I unpublish a calendar?
- If the calendar has sub-calendars that you want to keep, make the sub-calendars top-level calendars before you delete.
Tip To convert a sub-calendar to a top-level calendar, in the editing environment, select the sub-calendar. Click Settings. Under Relationship to Other Calendars, for Top-level calendar, select Yes.
If you don't want to keep the calendar's sub-calendars, delete them first.
- In the calendar list, take the focus off the calendar you're deleting by clicking the name of a different calendar.
- In the list, find the calendar you're deleting, and then click the arrow () to the right of the calendar's name.
- Click Delete.
Deleting a calendar.
- In the confirmation window, click OK.
The calendar disappears from the calendar list.
Tip If you don't see Delete on the menu, it means that you didn't create the calendar so you can't delete it. For other alternatives, see What you can do with calendars you can't delete.
How to restore a calendar you deleted
If you discover that you deleted a calendar in error, you have a few days to restore the calendar yourself.
Tip If you delete a calendar, restore it, and then decide to publish it, the calendar will automatically be set for password protection. To change the setting, in the editing environment, make the calendar active, and then click Publish. On the Publish Settings page, for Access type, select Public.
To restore a deleted calendar
- In the editing environment, on the left, under Calendar Tasks, click Manage your calendars.
- On the Manage Your Calendars page, under Recently Deleted Calendars, find the calendar you deleted.
- Click Restore, and then click Done.
Restoring a calendar.
Back in the editing environment, you see the calendar in the calendar list again.
Tip If it's been more than a few days and you don't see the deleted calendar on the Manage Your Calendars page, contact your Client Services representative who may be able to help.