Print This Page

College of Arts and Sciences » Simpson Center for the Humanities

7th Annual International Ladino Day
7th Annual International Ladino Day
WhenThursday, Dec. 5, 2019, 7 – 9 p.m.
Campus locationStudent Union Building (HUB)
Campus roomLyceum
Event typesAcademics, Exhibits, Lectures/Seminars, Performances
Event sponsorsSpanish & Portuguese Studies Leigh Ann Ruben, lruben@uw.edu / (206) 616-3708



Linguistics. Michael Furr furr@uw.edu / 206-685-7467



History. Josh Apfel joshito@uw.edu / (206) 543-2375



Anthropology. John H. Cady johncady@uw.edu , (206) 543-5644



UW Libraries. Sandy Hawley shawley1@uw.edu / 206.543.9389



Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations. Patrick J. Gibbs pjgibbs@uw.edu / (206) 543-0475



Sephardic Bikur Holim. Rabbi Ben Hassan rabbi@sbhseattle.org / 206.602.9395



Ezra Bessaroth. Albert Israel albertisrael1@yahoo.com / 206-250-1148



Seattle Sephardic Network. Rena Behar rena_behar@yahoo.com / 206-849-7232
Target AudienceStudents, Faculty, Scholars, Jewish community, interested citizens.
Description

Ladino Day 2019 will survey the life cycle customs and traditions unique to Sepharadim from the Ottoman Empire. From birth to coming of age, weddings to funerals, the program will highlight a selection of major life events and explore shifts in Sephardic culture and the Ladino language through textual and material artifacts, oral histories, and photographs. Performances of Ladino songs by the Ladineros, Seattle’s long time Ladino conversation group, a Ladino reading by Anna Jacoby (Northwest Yeshiva High School ’22) and a multimedia presentation by Professor Devin Naar, will bring memories of these Sephardic traditions to life.

Linkjewishstudies.washington.edu…
Printed: Wednesday, February 26, 2020 at 10:01 PM PST